Wolf Durmashkin

Musician
1914 – 1944

1914

Wolf Durmashkin was born in 1914 in Vilnius, once called the “Jerusalem of Lithuania”, as the oldest of three children of Jewish-Polish parents. Deep religiosity, a caring co-operation, a conscientious and serene care of Jewish culture, and a passion for the music that permeated the entire family, should determine his life. His father Akiva enjoyed an excellent reputation as a composer of liturgical works.
Akiva also taught music in Jewish and Hebrew schools, was the choiremaster of the Great Synagogue, and conductor of various orchestras and choirs. Renowned cantors such as Moshe Koussevitsky and Yossele Rosenblatt came to the his home to compose with him.
In this environment, the only five-year-old Wolf just needed to listen to a piece of music, and he was able to reproduce it by ear on a keyboard. As a seven-year old he managed in the presence of his father to direct a choir and was able to advise musicians on how they could enhance their performances. Already at the age of eleven he went on his first triumphant concert tour throughout Lithuania and Poland.
After attending a Hebrew gymnasia (high school), he initially attended the Vilna Conservatory of Music and then went to Warsaw to complete his studies in conducting under the well-known Russian teacher Berdiayev. Both conservatories where so convinced by his talents, that they refused to charge him tuition. Instead of the usual two years, Wolf Durmashkin was allowed to wield the conductor’s baton after only one semester.

 

 

September 1939


With the invasion of Poland by the Germans, and thus the beginning of the Second World War, changed – once more –the affilitiation of Vilnius, which, depending on  which nation it was annexed to, was also called Wilno or Vilna. In 1939 the city was taken by the Red Army and Wolf Durmashkin returned to his family.

With his father he arranged the Hebrew version of the opera “Aida” and became head of the Vilna Symphony Orchestra. He celebrated one success after the other. Every concert he conducted was sold out. Posters with his picture could be found all over the city. In short, he was a star among the musicians, who also was appreciated for his human warmth and selfless care for others.

After the German army had taken Vilnius on June 24, 1941, nothing remained the same. In July Nazis began snatching Jews off the streets and from their homes and hauled into the infamous Lukiskes prison.

More actions were to follow. Months later it became known that the captives had been shot outside the city’s gates, in the woods of Paneriai (Ponary) on a 5.000 square meter area. Among the murderers were many Lithuanian collaborators. Although friends wanted him to flee, Wolf Durmashkin stayed with his parents and grandparents.

September 1941


In September 1941 Wolf Durmashkin and his family were taken by the National Socialists to the Great Ghetto. Six families had to share an apartment, food was scarce and the future more than uncertain. Personal possessions, compositions and musical instruments, everything had to be left behind. Roommates who were forced to work for the Nazis outside the ghetto disassembled a piano that they had found in a deserted house. Hiding the parts in their clothing, they brought the instrument into the ghetto piece by piece, where it was put back together. Other musical instruments found their way into the ghetto in the same way.

For a while, Nazi overseers allowed Wolf Durmashkin to conduct the Vilnius Symphony Orchestra, because the musicians claimed they couldn’t manage without him. Then this little freedom came to an end as well.

In the ghetto itself, cultural life developed step by step. Wolf Durmashkin founded a Hebrew choir and the ghetto’s symphony orchestra, theaters emerged and literature, lyric and painting were created – Jewish art and culture was at the highest level. The first concert under the equally harrowing as humiliating conditions took place on 15 March 1942.

The program included Dvorak’s Symphony “From the New World”, Beethoven’s Ninth, the Overture to Mozart’s “Marriage of Figaro” and Chopin’s Piano Concerto in E Minor. One of the hundred members of the Hebrew Choir was Wolf’s sister, Henia Durmashkin. His sister Fania was a pianist.

In concert, they performed Handel’s “Messiah”, played Jewish popular and Zionist pioneer songs, sang “Jerushalaim”, or composed lyric by H. N. Bialik. For his composition “Elegy of Ponary” Wolf Durmashking was awarded with a prize in composition contest held in the Ghetto. In the aftermath the Small Ghetto was liquidated and over 100,000 people were murdered on the shooting grounds of Ponary.

September 1944


In 1943 the Great Ghetto was finally liquidated. After the head of the Judenrat, Jacob Gens, had been murdered, Wolf Durmashkin exclaimed desperately, “This is the end!” Once more people were pulled out into the street, this time for the selection: families were torn apart. Old people and children went left, the younger went to the right to work. Together with the writer and diarist Herman Kruk, Wolf Durmashkin was dragged first to the Estonian concentration camp Klooga, and later to Lagedi.

In Klooga he lost a finger in an accident while cutting trees in the forest. In September 1944, groups of ten to twelve Jews were tied with ropes, forced to lay down on a big pyre of wooden logs and shot. This process was repeated for a whole day. Afterwards the pyre was set on fire.

A few hours before the Red Army arrived, the SS finished the camp in a mass slaughter. Only a few survived. Wolf Durmashkin was not one of them.

Of the 60,000 Jews living in Vilnius in 1939, only 2,000 survived the Holocaust.

Wolf Durmashkin

Musiker
1914 – 1944

 

1914

Wolf Durmashkin wurde 1914 im heutigen Vilnius, einstmals auch das “Jerusalem Litauens“ genannt, als ältestes von drei Kindern jüdisch-polnischer Eltern geboren. Tiefe Religiosität, ein fürsorgliches Miteinander, sowie die ebenso gewissenhafte wie heitere Pflege jüdischer Kultur und eine die gesamte Familie durchziehende Leidenschaft für die Musik sollten sein Leben bestimmen. Sein Vater Akiva genoss einen hervorragenden Ruf als Komponist liturgischer Werke.
Zudem unterrichtete Akiva Musik an jüdischen und hebräischen Schulen, war Chordirektor der Großen Synagoge und als Dirigent verschiedenster Orchester und Chöre tätig.  Namhafte Kantoren wie Moshe Koussevitsky und Yossele Rosenblatt kamen zu den Durmashkins nach Hause um gemeinsam zu komponieren.
In diesem Umfeld musste der erst fünfjährige Wolf nur einmal ein Musikstück hören, um es auf einem Klavier wie selbstverständlich wiedergeben zu können. In Anwesenheit seines Vaters wusste er  schon als Siebenjähriger einen Chor zu dirigieren. Er war in der Lage, die einzelnen Instrumente herauszuhören und Korrekturen an die Musiker weiterzugeben.  Bereits mit elf Jahren ging er erstmals auf eine Konzerttournee und riss seine Besucher in Litauen und Polen zu Begeisterungsstürmen hin.
Nach dem Abitur am hebräischen Gymnasium besuchte er zunächst das Konservatorium seiner Geburtsstadt und ging dann, um sein Studium zu vervollständigen, nach Warschau, wo er Schüler des bekannten russischen Dirigentenlehrers Berdiayev wurde. Von dem über alle Maße talentierten jungen Musiker überzeugt, lehnte dieser es rundweg ab, Geld für die Unterrichtsstunden zu nehmen. Statt nach den üblichen zwei Jahren durfte Wolf Durmashkin schon nach dem ersten Semester öffentlich zum Taktstock greifen.

September 1939


Mit dem Überfall Polens durch die Deutschen und dem damit beginnenden Zweiten Weltkrieg änderten sich – wieder einmal – die Herrschaftsverhältnisse in Vilnius, das, je nachdem von wem es gerade in seiner wechselvollen Geschichte beherrscht wurde, auch Wilno oder Wilna hieß. 1939 wurde die Stadt von der Roten Armee eingenommen und Wolf Durmashkin kehrte zu seiner Familie zurück.

Mit seinem Vater arrangierte er die hebräische Version der Oper Aidaund wurde Leiter des städtischen Sinfonieorchesters. Er feierte einen Erfolg nach dem anderen. Alle von ihm geleiteten Konzerte waren ausverkauft. Überall in der Stadt fanden sich Plakate mit seinem Bild. Kurzum, er war ein Stern am Musikerhimmel, der aber auch wegen seiner menschlichen Wärme und selbstlosen Hilfsbereitschaft geschätzt wurde.

Nachdem die deutsche Wehrmacht am 24. Juni 1941 Vilnius eingenommen hatte, war nichts mehr wie es vorher war. Erstmals wurden im Juli Juden mitten auf der Straße aufgegriffen oder aus ihren Häusern gezerrt und in das berüchtigte Lukiskes-Gefängnis gebracht.

Weitere Aktionen sollten folgen. Erst Monate später wurde bekannt, dass man die inhaftierten Juden vor den Toren der Stadt, in den Wäldern von Paneriai (Ponary) auf einem 5. 000 Quadratmeter großen Areal, erschossen hatte. Unter den Mördern befanden sich zahlreiche litauische Kollaborateure. Obschon Freunde ihn zur Flucht zu bewegen versuchten, blieb Wolf Durmashkin bei seinen Eltern und Großeltern.

September 1941


Im September 1941 wurden Wolf Durmashkin und seine Familie von den Nationalsozialisten in das Große Ghetto verschleppt. Sechs Familien mussten sich eine Wohnung teilen, Lebensmittel waren knapp und die Zukunft mehr als ungewiss. Persönlicher Besitz, Kompositionen und Musikinstrumente, alles mussten sie zurücklassen. Mitbewohner, die außerhalb des Ghettos zur Arbeit für die Nazis gezwungen wurden, legten ein Klavier, das sie in einem geräumten Haus gefunden hatten, Stück für Stück auseinander, versteckten die Teile unter ihrer Kleidung und setzten es im Ghetto wieder zusammen. So geschah es mit vielen weiteren Musikinstrumenten.

Eine Zeit lang konnte Wolf Durmashkin noch das Vilnius-Sinfonieorchester leiten, weil sich die Musiker des Klangkörpers für ihn eingesetzt hatten und ohne ihn nicht zurechtkamen.  Doch auch diese kleine Freiheit fand ihr Ende.

Im Ghetto selbst entwickelte sich Schritt für Schritt ein eigenes Kulturleben. Wolf Durmashkin gründete einen hebräischen Chor und ein Ghetto-Sinfonieorchester. Es entstanden Theater, sowie Literatur, Lyrik, Malerei  – jüdische Kunst und Kultur auf höchstem Niveau. Das erste Konzert unter den ebenso qualvollen wie demütigenden Bedingungen fand am 15. März 1942 statt.

Auf dem Programm standen unter anderem Dvoraks Symphonie Aus der Neuen Welt, Beethovens Neunte, die Ouvertüre zu Mozarts Hochzeit des Figaro und Chopins Klavierkonzert in E-Moll. Zu den einhundert Mitgliedern des Hebräischen Chores gehörte auch Wolfs Schwester Henia Durmashkin. Seine Schwester Fania war Pianistin.

In Konzerten führten sie Händels „Messias“ auf, spielten jüdische Volks- und zionistische Pionierlieder, sangen „Jerushalaim“ oder vertonten Lyrik von H. N. Bialik. Wolf Durmashkins Stück „Elegie von Ponary“, das von dem Massaker auf dem Paneriaigelände inspiriert wurde, gewann den Ghetto – Kompositionspreis. In der Folgezeit, und,  nach der Räuming des Kleinen Ghettos, wurden über 100.000 weitere Menschen auf dem Erschießungsgelände ermordet.

September 1944


1943 schließlich wurde auch das Große Ghetto liquidiert. Nachdem der Leiter des Judenrats, Jacob Gens, ermordet worden war, rief Wolf Durmashkin verzweifelt aus: Das ist das Ende! Wieder wurden die Menschen auf die Straße getrieben, diesmal zur Selektion: Familien wurden auseinandergerissen, alte Leute und Kinder nach links, die jüngeren, arbeitsfähigen Ghettoinsassen nach rechts. Zusammen mit dem Schriftsteller und Tagebuchautor Herman Kruk wurde Wolf Durmashkin zuerst in das estnische Konzentrationslager Klooga und dann nach Lagedi verschleppt.

Bei  Waldarbeiten verletzte er sich und verlor einen Finger. Im September 1944 schließlich wurden Gruppen von jeweils zehn bis zwölf Juden mit Stricken gefesselt, auf Baumstämme gelegt, erschossen und anschließend verbrannt.

Ein paar Stunden vor dem Eintreffen der Roten Armee räumte die SS gewaltsam das Lager. Nur wenige überlebten. Wolf Durmashkin gehörte nicht zu ihnen.

Von den 60.000 im Jahr 1939 in Vilnius lebenden Juden überlebten nur 2.000 den Holocaust.